Office girlfriends

No matter where you work, or what you do, everybody needs a support system at work. You know, those friends who you hang out with, have lunch with, and chit-chat about everything at work: good and bad! There have been some days in my recent past when I don’t know how I would have coped if I didn’t have my “Office Girlfriends”.

Office girlfriends are always there to cheer you on when exciting things happen, whether it’s a promotion, or a little lunchtime shopping to ease the stress of an otherwise brutal day. And the old standby: a cozy chat by the coffee machine. It’s that little bit of human contact outside of the humdrum of being a cyber drone in your cubicle all day!

We desperately need human contact. In some cases, we’ll take it in any form we can get. I remember at one office, I had to sit next to my mortal enemy. To say she was spiteful, envious and catty, wouldn’t even begin to cover it. But I must admit that there were times, that I exchanged a few minutes of idle small talk just to break the monotony of staring into my computer.

But it’s not only what they can do for us, it’s what we can do for them. Even the smallest thing can really make your office girlfriends feel better. Recently, one of my friends was reduced to tears after her boss tore her to shreds in his office. She fled to the washroom to cry it out. I didn’t know what to do, or what to say, so I gave her a bit of time to be alone, then went in, with a box of Kleenex and a hug.  I could see how grateful she was that there was someone there. Sometimes, just being there is good enough.

Camaraderie is good for the soul. It makes us feel validated in a way that a manager just can’t reach us. It’s knowing that you share common ground, and can understand each other on so many levels.

– mboj

2 Responses to Office girlfriends

  1. 2020_lady says:

    Amen, sister!

  2. Charmander says:

    you’re the best office gal…. I will miss you and so happy that you are finally going to “live out your dream” as some may say…. you truly are an amazing individual with super strengths, a good person and I truly value the time spent chatting… I know in a couple of weeks, the office will not be the same without you….

Leave a Reply

